Being Random

ran·dom

[ran-duhm] Show IPA

adjective

1.proceeding, made, or occurring without definite aim, reason, or pattern: the random selection of numbers.

2.Statistics. of or characterizing a process of selection in which each item of a set has an equal probability of being chosen.

3.Building Trades.a.(of building materials) lacking uniformity of dimensions: random shingles.

b.(of ashlar) laid without continuous courses.

c.constructed or applied without regularity: random bond.

4.Informal.

a.unknown, unidentified, or out of place: A couple of random guys showed up at the party.

b.odd and unpredictable in an amusing way: my totally random life.

I have often been told how completely random I am. I think that when I was younger people may have meant it as an insult or accusation, but I take it as a total compliment now. I will come and tell someone something that I find to be very relevant or very humorous or profound, and be met with a particular kind of silent, sceptical stare. Most often the look is followed with the words, “Amy, you are so Random”.  It has taken me years of trial and error to realize that not everyone (in fact boringly few people) get a kick out of the same kinds of information and happenings as I do.

It may have made for a childhood with few friends, no one wanting to be associated with the weird girl, but The older I get the more I love my own company, so it doesn’t bother me in the slightest what the normal people think. That is not to say that I am friendless! Not by any means. I have the most amazing friends. They are all very real, genuine people. They are individuals and all people I love to be around.  They completely get me, and my randomness (most of the time).

I will never forget a day when I sent a text message to my oldest friend, who lives far away. It was only one or two sentences, I can’t remember what about, but she phoned me right back and we both laughed and laughed down the line with each other for a few minutes, then both hung up without a word being spoken.

Random. But connected.

I love Randomness.

So For those who may have missed it this blog is dedicated entirely to randomness.

I love random facts, random humor, and random acts of kindness. I most especially love any random thing that amuses or pleases me.

Once you open your eyes to the random funniness of life you will find that there is humor everywhere.

True there is also sadness, strife and trouble, but that is obvious. It doesn’t take any kind of effort to find those things.

Finding Random humor and random kindness in the world is an art. Random beauty, random joy.

Random genius too.

And so I hope to share with world some of the random things that catch my eye or ramble across the plains of my mind. I do hope that someone out there will enjoy it with me.

Image Power to your Randomness!

One thought on “Being Random

Leave a Reply

