Back in Action

 

After three weeks of Holiday and lets face it, way too much eating of far too rich food, its all back to the grindstone this week.

It’s not all as bad as it sounds though.

Yesterday I surprised myself by being in a ridiculously good mood for our first morning back at work.

Much to the annoyance of my co-workers. For some reason having my cheerfulness make other people sick makes me even more cheerful. Call me sadistic. I am the worst person to be around the day after a heavy party, because I always find having a hangover slightly funny. So of course everyone else hates me for it. Hell, I even like mornings, although I must admit that I prefer to have my first half hour and cup of coffee to myself, and that is the real reason why I get up earlier than everyone else.

 

The best thing about being back in the swing of things though is most definatley, without a doubt, being back at Capoeira.

We had our first class of the year tonight and I am so grateful for it. I feel like I have been holding my breath for three weeks, and now I can breathe again.

I love it so much.

When I walked into that class I was tired, I had a headache, I was worrying about how to pay the bills and generally feeling pretty stressed.

At the beginning of the class I was worried that I would tire quickly from being out of practise, but before I knew what was going on the hour and half was over. I walked out of there feeling completely and absolutely calm.

I have sweated myself into a state that can only be called gross. I have stretched things I had forgotten about. I have challenged my powers of coordination and movement and come out of it feeling strong and beautiful. We even learned the words to a new song!

It doesn’t just shape my body, it shapes my soul.

Going to that class tonight, seeing my old comrades in sweat and labours of love, makes  me feel like 2014 has finally started. It is as if the New Year just opened up and is stretching out ahead of us like a pristine beach at sunrise or a valley of beautiful flowers  after a long climb through dry, rocky terrain.

You just know that it is going to be good.

Capoeira doesn’t only teach me how to deal with the kicks coming at my head in a creative way, it teaches me that life doesn’t have to be free of challenges to be good, I just have to find my way to kick back, and dodge artfully, so that when you are looking from the outside it doesn’t look like I am fighting life, but like I am dancing with it. In The same way that untrained eyes  don’t see all of the lethal stuff hiding inside of the flow and dance of a well played game.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

