2014 the year that was just way too real (a bit late )

nomore2014

So it’s here at last, the end of the year, and for the first time I am thinking – thank goodness for that!

I am rushing to meet this new year like a ship wrecked super model rushes for a shower after three weeks in the wild – wash it off already!

The year that dragged me into my thirties, stole my first car, caused my second car to die in the middle of an intersection on the N2 in mid holiday traffic and taught my kids the joys of sibling rivalry. This was the year that solidified my first real wrinkles while still holding firm to the zits, the year that stole my teenaged metabolism and actually made me watch my carb intake because I started to develop a belly!

This year has been a bitch, on many levels.

And yet, I have survived it. Not through my own strength and wisdom, but with a little help from my friends and family.

So I would like to thank the people that stuck by me this year and wish all of the best farewells to those friends who have drifted away. We will not try to hang onto things past, like my twenties, but instead will remember them with fondness.

The days when I was still young enough to get away with it.

Now it’s time to embrace a whole new chapter. With 2015 approaching, my first crappy novel finally finished and my thirties six months under way I think I am ready to start being a grown up.

On the up side, I know who my real friends are.

I know what kind of people I want in my life and what kinds to avoid.

I have learned to say no! and I that just because a guy asks you out doesn’t mean you have to be nice – I have finally learned that all guys believe that accepting a cup of coffee automatically means that you are into them – girls – just buy your own coffee.

I know that I am able to do more than man up to a challenge – I can put on my big girl panties and deal with it!

I finally have an idea of what I really want to do with my life, and I think now that I have decided what I want to do when I grow up I might just start growing up.

I know that nothing is more important than family – and that not all family are the people who share your genetics – but that the blood that binds you can also be figurative. Usually they are the people who have survived with you and still love you.

So bring it on 2015, this one’s for me.

Let’s get a little bit less real this year, a bit more romantic, imaginative and fantastic.

2 thoughts on “2014 the year that was just way too real (a bit late )

Leave a Reply

