Vroom! Vroom! Jaguar Simola hillclimb 2015

A day at the races

I had the fine luck to find myself with a media pass to the Jaguar Simola Hill Climb this weekend. I was the official Twitter feed “girl on the ground” for a local organization.

Off I went, armed with my (let’s face it fairly cut rate) cell phone, my (actually rather good) flask of coffee and a pink arm band declaring me as “media”. It is amazing the kind of access you can get around an event (even a dangerous motorsports event) with a media badge. It’s like the magic wand that opens the doorway to forbidden areas.

Okay so it actually just means that I got to go snoop around the pits and get myself into ridiculously precarious positions for the sake of a photo (all taken with said el-crap-io cell phone).

How was the 2015 JaguarSHC? In a word: Loud.

Seriously loud. Like vrrrrooooom, vroooom, brump brump brump, vrooooom!

That’s pretty much the best I can do to describe it.

That roar of the engines has an amazing effect on the adrenaline levels! I felt like a little girl. I was so excited! Even when I had no idea what was going on around me.

Oh and all the pretty cars! So shiny! So beautiful. Ironically a friend was teasing me before hand saying I was just going to try and bag myself a rich man, whereas I was actually more into the cars than the guys were. I think I may have a bit of a thing for loud, fast, powerful cars. (sshh, don’t tell anyone but they kind of do things to me)

The best was being in the thick of things. It’s definitely not glamorous being a “media” type. You get there early and leave last. You can’t miss a single thing. You are working, after all. But you also feel like you are really part of the action. You are right up close and personal with the cars and the drivers and the organizers. I don’t think I could attend another big event as just a spectator. I would feel left out.

I must give a big heads up to the organizers. This was, without a shadow of a doubt, the best organized event I have attended in some time, possibly ever.

It was safe, it was clean, everything ran smoothly from start to exhilarating finish.

I feel really privileged to have been on the inside track (quite literally) of such a flashy event.

I even managed to take the kids along for part of it, I think Felix has a new love affair : classic sports cars.

My only sadness is that the vintage drive happened on Friday afternoon, before I clocked in for duty, and I didn’t get to ogle my own true love: Vintage Stock cars.

If I had one request for the organizers next year (aside from “please can I run your social media and please can I drive your Jag”) it would be that they involve the classic vintage beauties more for the rest of the weekend. I would have loved a chance to go and day dream over them.

Leave a Reply

