Serendipity

Life is serendipitous when you roll with it.

Serendipity

n. The occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way.

I believe strongly in serendipity. In the harmonious flow of our lives working out for the best, time and again.

I think for the most part if you radiate a good frequency your life will fall effortlessly into place. Okay, no, not effortlessly, but rather naturally.

I find that the problems don’t come in until you start trying to dictate everything. You may say “Okay but I am radiating a good frequency and bad stuff still happens.”

Or you may be thinking “you can’t just let your life happen! You have to have a plan, have goals, make it work!”

My answer to the above is “yes”.

You are right. Sometimes crap happens no matter how hard you try to stay positive. That’s life. Shit happens.

And yes, you do have to plan your success, goals are important. The purpose of life is a life of purpose, after all. Without goals you may as well retire and hang up your punching gloves.

And as for making it work, well! “Make it work” is my manifesto.

But the fact remains that you have to allow for a certain amount of unexpected shit hitting the fan.

And you have to let it!

When your plans get side-lined Try not to see it as a setback. There is no point. You are only going to upset yourself with that kind of thinking. You have to see it as an opportunity to do something  in a different way. If there is one thing I learned through capoeira it’s that the most important thing you can do is keep moving! If you fall on your arse, get up and keep going. If you get kicked in the head, change direction, but keep moving. The moment you stand still the energy stops flowing. The moment the energy stops flowing it dies. Then you have to start all over again. Energy has momentum. It likes to keep flowing.

So when your plans go west it doesn’t mean you have to stop all action! Quite the opposite. It means that you have to look for the unexpected good the universe is trying to share with you.

Today my mom called to let me know she could pick the kids up from school for me. She was doing me a favour but it meant my plans for the hour were shifted. In fact they were sidelined completely. So I decided to take a lunch break (which I never do) I went out to get some slap chips (naughty and yum) and then had an inspiration. I should go to the Hospice shop, I thought, and I did.

There I found a book for my daughter, marked at a whole R5 (I always do my book shopping at Hospice). Yay. Bought it for the Christmas stocking. Then I headed to the shop for food. While standing in the queue I spied the shiny Windmill my son has wanted for months. I decided to buy it, even though I am not particularly flush right now. When I got to the checkout I thought to myself – this is dusty, they should mark it down. I didn’t say anything, I just thought it. They rung it up – it was half the marked price!

Then as I was heading back to the office I eyed out the bench outside. It looked inviting but I felt a bit spare going to sit there alone. So I walked on. but as I was walking I had this feeling that someone of great import to my life was going to join me on that bench. I stopped and turned around. And there behind me was one of my very best friends! She spotted me at the same time and we happily went to sit on the bench and eat our lunch together.

So although my plans for lunch time were derailed I decided to roll with it, let it flow. Then a whole load of really great stuff happened. Stuff I didn’t plan. All because I actually let go for a few minutes.

If I had stuck regimentally to my original plan for the time I would have missed all of that unplanned goodness.

The same thing happens every day, in hundreds of little ways.

I have one idea, but the universe has another. If I fight it I end up frustrated and dissatisfied by the changes. If I go with it and look for the opportunities in everything I find myself actually having little adventures, surprises and a life with moments of unexpected wonder.  (and yet usually I am on the fighting it and getting uptight side of things – go figure)

 

Sometimes it’s nothing more than the universe presenting you with situations that allow other people to help you. When they do it can restore your faith in humanity. It can remind you of the kind of person you want to be.

Please understand that I am not by any means condemning your planning. Planning, working hard, setting goals and achieving them is a big part of who I am.

My message to you today is this: When plans change, you can find un-looked for blessings.

All you need is to keep moving and keep positive, and sometimes just go with the flow of your own whimsical side.

 

 

Did you enjoy this post? Help me stay awake to write another…

 

2 thoughts on “Serendipity

  1. Awesome, inspirational and just what I needed. Sometimez you think, well, I’m thinking good thoughts here, why isn’t the Universe fitting in? Meanwhile, I’m missing all of the chances where the really good stuff, the stuff of happiness, is being handed right to me.
    As always, thank you Amy Kay!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

