The Gift of Solitude

Be grateful for the time you have alone

If mass media is to be believed, being alone is the worst thing that can possibly happen to a human. We all crave and need companionship, relationships, and other people. We are social creatures and societies have been responsible for our evolution from primitive man to our current state of civilisation.
But….
Spending time alone is important too.
As a single mom who works full time, I get very little REAL alone time. When I do find myself alone by some chance it always feels like a present. Like on a Sunday morning, for example. Not every Sunday, but sometimes, my kids will go off to church with my mom and I will unexpectedly find myself alone for two whole hours. Not the kind of alone that you are when you’re the only person awake in a house with other sleeping bodies, but really alone. And you know what? It feels like a luxury. Like the air itself is softer and somehow charged with sparkles and energy.
Should I exercise? Should I do yoga? Should I have a shower and walk around stark naked for a while after? Maybe I’ll read a book or play guitar (with no one complaining about it) or maybe just do some leisurely work when I can actually think – or maybe just think and let my mind wander – something I used to do a lot as a child and never seem to have the luxury of doing anymore.
I love my family and my friends, but being alone is a treat because I like myself too. Without time alone how can you ever know what you’re thinking?
Time alone is a gift, use it like the present that it is.
If you’re single or lonely you might be thinking “ya, only if you don’t have to be alone is it a gift.” That’s understandable, if you feel starved for companionship the idea of being alone might seem sad and dark to you. It isn’t, and you won’t be alone forever. In fact, the most sure-fire way to make sure that you have people in your life is to learn to enjoy your own company. Because people are drawn to those who are comfortable in their own skin.

We are so accustomed to our media induced self-loathing that the idea of enjoying own company is almost frowned upon. Liking yourself is an act of rebellion. Be rebellious.
You have to spend time alone. Every person should spend a few years single. Every person should spend time alone, finding out what you like, what you don’t like. Learning who you are and loving yourself for it. If you don’t you can never truly be yourself. You won’t know how.Don’t spend all your free time on Social Media. It will only make you feel inadequate.
You are the best friend you will ever have. Fuck being okay with yourself. Learn to love yourself. Laugh at your own jokes. Exercise. Eat things you like. Daydream. Read a book.

This is how we recharge. It’s how we become centred and calm. It’s how you gather strength and motivation to carry on. Never feel badly for being alone. Feel grateful. You’re in good company.
Besides, if we are all alone, we are together in that too.

Leave a Reply

